McHenry County Board election results: Pam Althoff, District 6 incumbents win big

District 5 race separated by 11 votes

CRYSTAL LAKE – State Sen. Pamela Althoff is coming home.

She won election to the McHenry County Board District 4 seat, according to unofficial primary results. With 100 percent of precincts reported, Althoff had 3,211 votes – more than 42 percent of the ballots.

There are no Democratic candidates in District 4.

“I am pleased and honored that the individual people of McHenry County decided to continue to support me and my political efforts,” Althoff said.

The McHenry native and Republican has served as a member of the Illinois Senate since 2003. As a senator, she backed legislation to expand agriculture, increase open space and promote economic growth.

Althoff said she plans to focus much of her energy on ensuring the long-term sustainability of the Fox River Waterway, a subject she championed as a senator.

Going forward, Althoff said she has another goal in mind: bringing the Republican Party together in McHenry County.

“McHenry County Republicans need to unite,” Althoff said.

In Tuesday’s contested County Board races, every incumbent candidate won re-election.

Here’s a look at the unofficial results of the 2018 primary:

District 4

As voters paved the way home for Althoff, they also re-elected incumbent Republican Charles “Chuck” Wheeler over McHenry Republican Steve Bellmore. Wheeler received 2,368 votes, while Bellmore had 1,982 votes with 100 percent of precincts reported.

District 5

Here, it was a close one – too close to call.

While incumbent John Jung Jr., R-Woodstock, sailed to the November election with 1,921 votes, the race between Michael Rein, R-Woodstock, and Lesli Melendy, R-Huntley, was separated by 11 votes in Tuesday’s unofficial count.

With 100 percent of precincts reported, unofficial results showed 1,670 votes for Rein and 1,659 votes for Melendy.

Democrats Frank Wedig and Carlos Acosta will face the winners in November.

District 6

Voters in rural District 6 re-elected Republican incumbents Michele Aavang, R-Woodstock, and Larry Smith, R-Harvard. They received 3,161 and 3,007 votes, respectively, compared with Republican challengers Ersel Schuster, who had 1,923 votes, and Orville Brettman, who received 1,604 votes.

“I’m feeling really good that the voters looked at the issues and decided who the two best candidates are for this district,” Smith said.

The Republican said his experience and Aavang’s experience on the County Board appeared to make it an easy choice for voters.

“Michele and I have the experience to represent this district,” Smith said. “We’ve both worked hard, and we’ve earned the respect and support of our colleagues.”

Democrat Buffy Brasile will face the winners in November.

Loading more

Digital Access

Digital Access
Access nwherald.com from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, weekend and Sunday packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! Get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Plan your weekend and catch up on the news with our newsletters.